Senior Citizen pilgrimage first train for Rameshwaram

Senior Citizen pilgrimage first train for Rameshwaram on 14th

The first senior citizen pilgrimage train from Jaipur to Rameshwaram on June 14, Passengers will have medical at Durgapura station.


The travel schedule has been fixed for the selected passengers under the Senior Citizen Pilgrimage Scheme. The first train under this scheme will go to Rameswaram near Chennai, which will leave from Durgapura railway station in Jaipur on June 14. 

More than one thousand passengers from other cities including Jaipur, Dausa, Sawai Madhopur will travel in this train. Before this journey, the medical checkup of all the passengers will be done at the railway station itself.

According to the report received from the Devasthan Department, the maximum number of 3,864 passengers will go from Jaipur in this entire journey. Of these, 386 passengers will leave by air and 3478 by rail. At the second place, a total of 2150 passengers will be made to travel from Jodhpur.

Those traveling from air will be first taken to Pashupatinath Temple located in Nepal for darshan. The journey by air will start in the month of July or August. As of now only the passengers going by train will be given darshan. Most of them are going to Rameshwaram in Chennai.

Medical team will be deployed

The department will also deploy a medical team to take care of the health of the passengers during this entire journey. For this, yesterday the department has written a letter to the collectors of Jaipur, Alwar, Dausa, Sikar and Jhunjhunu, demanding that a medical team be sent. In this, apart from the doctor, the nursing staff will also be posted in the train. 

At the same time, before traveling in the train, the primary examination of all the passengers will also be done at the railway station, for which a medical team will accompany the ambulance.

Will cover these pilgrimage sites

This time new pilgrimage sites have also been added to the Senior Citizens Yatra. Rail journeys include Rameshwaram-Madurai, Jagannath Puri-Tirupati, Dwarkapuri-Somnath, Vaishnodevi-Amritsar, Prayagraj-Varanasi, Mathura-Vrindavan-Barsana, Sammedshikhar-Pawapuri-Baidyanath, Ujjain-Omkareshwar-Trimbakeshwar Nashik, Gangasagar-Kolkata, Kamakhya-Guwahati, Other pilgrimages including Haridwar-Rishikesh-Ayodhya, Bihar Sharif, Velankanni Church TamilNadu are included. 

This year, apart from Ayodhya, Sammed Shikhar, Vaidyanath Jyotirling Jharkhand and Trimbakeshwar Jyotirling Maharashtra have been added.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments