Grand welcome of Paralympic medalists in Jaipur

News Rajasthan Sports

Paralympic players who won medals in Tokyo received a warm welcome on their return to Jaipur.

Paralympic players who made our country proud winning medals in Tokyo reached Jaipur on Friday afternoon. They received a grand welcome at the airport and were taken to the Sawai Man Singh Stadium in a procession. 

A large number of sports fans welcomed the medal-winning players at the airport. Sports Department officials including Sports Minister Ashok Chandna and MLA Krishna Poonia were also present on the occasion

Rajasthan government gave a reward of Rs.10 crore to medalists. A cheque of Rs. 4 crores was given to Avni Lekhara for winning gold and bronze medals in Tokyo Paralympics. While Krishna Nagar received Rs. 3 crore for winning gold medals, Devendra Jhajhadia Rs. 2 crores for silver medals, and Sundar Gurjar Rs. 1 crore for the bronze medal.

In the ceremony organized at the stadium, the Sports Minister congratulated the players along with handing over the checks. The government will also give jobs and land to Jaipur medal winners in Paralympics. Each player will get a government job, plots in urban areas, or 25 bighas of agricultural land in rural areas.

Along with this, Avani Lekhara of Jaipur, who won a gold medal in the Tokyo Paralympic Games, has been made the brand ambassador of the ‘Beti Bachao Beti Padhao campaign. The Rajasthan government has started this campaign to promote girl child education.

According to the Sports Minister, Ashok Chandna, “The government wants to bring forward sports and sportspersons. For this, every possible help is being given to them. For this purpose, along with increasing the incentive amount, the players are being given jobs so that in the future the player never has to face trouble for the living. In coming times, the players of Rajasthan will again wave the flag of victory all over the world.”

All four players have brought glory to the country by winning 5 medals in Tokyo Paralympics. Avani Lekhara has won gold and bronze medals in shooting. Krishna Nagar has won a gold medal in the SH-6 badminton category. Devendra Jhajharia won Silver and Sundar Gurjar won Bronze in Javelin Throw.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments