Rajasthan became a state with 50 districts

Rajasthan became a state with 50 districts, Jaipur-Jodhpur split into two

With the notification approval of splitting the districts on Friday, Rajasthan now has 50 districts with 19 new districts including Jaipur and Jaipur Rural.


During a recent cabinet meeting, the government of Rajasthan approved the establishment of 19 new districts. Among these, two districts were carved out from Jaipur and Jodhpur each. The municipal corporation areas were incorporated into Jaipur and Jodhpur, while the tehsils outside these areas were included in Jaipur Rural and Jodhpur Rural districts.

Before the creation of 19 new districts, Rajasthan had 33 districts. However, with the addition of these new districts, the total count has risen to 50. Additionally, Pali, Sikar, and Banswara have been designated as divisions, resulting in the state now having a total of 10 divisions.

CM Ashok Gehlot said, “On August 7, the minister in charge will inaugurate new districts. The government had appointed IAS and IPS officers as OSD (Officer on Special Duty) in the new districts. As soon as the notification of new districts was issued, his post became Collector and SP. Collector, SP and district level offices will open here.”

According to the Revenue Minister, Ramlal Jat, “CM has created history. I demand that more districts should be made in future. The government also created some small districts in the state. There is a demand from the public and the BJP to create more districts in the state.”

Dudu the smallest, Jaisalmer the largest district

With the recent changes, Dudu will become the smallest district in Rajasthan, having only one assembly constituency. Meanwhile, Jaisalmer will retain its status as the largest district in terms of area.

19 new districts were announced

Initially, the government had announced the creation of 19 new districts in Rajasthan, which included Jaipur North, Jaipur South, Jodhpur North, and Jodhpur South districts. However, there was significant opposition to dividing Jaipur and Jodhpur into North and South, leading to a dispute. 

As a result, the government reached a compromise and renamed these districts Jaipur, Jaipur Rural, Jodhpur, and Jodhpur Rural. This resulted in the formation of 17 new districts instead of the originally proposed 19. Before these changes, there were already 33 districts in the state, and now, with the addition of these 17 new districts, the total count has reached 50.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments